It’s Been Long

It’s interesting how time flies. How seconds are looked up to by milliseconds and how they themselves find themselves to be mere midgets in comparison to the lofty hour…. and how the hour beholds the day and week with awe and jealousy, but also with an unmatchable kind of admiration. Each beholds the other wishing they would be like them and when they are, they stare right ahead- always ambitious to grow! And grow they do, unceasingly, faithfully, consistently and seemingly impatiently. Indeed, they are said to wait for no king; and seeing as am no king, I have been a victim of being left behind by this subtlely vicious family of dictators. This family called time.

It’s been long since I last wrote. I’ve missed writing and have been meaning to do this. But time always flies! And now am seated atop my bed, phone in hand, streams of endless thoughts in mind, and with some irritatingly loud music in the background. Did I mention that it’s secular? My neighbours are always so loud and rowdy, playing some unpalatable kind of music. Many are the times when my hand involuntarily slides down to my waist in search of my belt. I am always so irritated whenever the music starts. Sad thing is that I’ve never been bold enough to share Christ with them- for shame, for shame! But I pray that I’ll march up to them one day(before this semester comes to an end) with a weapon in hand; this time not with a belt but, hopefully, with the sword that is the word of God.

Many things have been happening in my life. When I started Out Of The Picture, I promised myself that I’d never feature in any of the posts- that I wouldn’t bring in the events of my personal life into the blog. Well, I am being tempted to change that just a little bit. Am tempted to just say what has been keeping me from writing(what’s been keeping me busy, what has changed in my life and so on and so forth) but that is a resistable one because am not quite the public figure whose life is as an open book. However, one that I have failed to resist is a testimony that I hope shall help many out there.

I have known my dad for 21 years now, and ever since I knew him, he’s been a chimney. Yes, a chimney. The man has been smoking for the longest time. This did not go well with me. Ever since I could do some multiplication and addition, I’d calculate for him the amount of money he would WASTE on cigarettes. Of course at that time my biggest concern was probably the fact that he would claim that there was no money to buy me a Play station or to take me out to a fancy place for dinner. With time, my concerns changed and I felt that by smoking, he was endangering his life and therefore being very unfair to his family. Oh how I’d be mad at him! We would argue about his smoking and these arguments would not end well. Come to think of it, that must have been the origin of quite an ugly rift that we’d suffered for quite some time because every time I looked at him I saw a very unfair and careless man.

So last Saturday we were talking. For a Saturday, he had come home quite early and so I congratulated him on that improvement. He took it farther and told me that he’d made quite a number of improvements. And that’s when he gave me the good news. That he had stopped smoking!!!!! How now!??? Just like that? Yes, just like that. He had not smoked the whole of that week and the on following day, that is Sunday, he would clock a whole week of being clean! You see, the man was not a small time smoker. In fact, I know of no one who would smoke as heavily as my beloved father. On average, he would do like 60-80 cigarettes in a day then bam! He stopped. No withdrawal effects no nothing. Unbelievable? Believe it!

He has been my constant prayer item since childhood. He’s been one of those prayer items that eventually become a meaningless and hopeless song that’s just recited during that hour of prayer. After more than 15 years of praying for him, I must admit I did get comfortable with the fact that my dad was a smoker and that he was unsaved. But it’s a good and amazing thing that our Father in heaven does as He pleases, even in our weakness expressed in unbelief.

Psalm 115:3 “Our God is in heaven; He does whatever pleases Him.”

Eph 1:11 “In Him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of HIM WHO WORKS OUT EVERYTHING in conformity with the purpose of His will,” (caps my own)

And how glad I am that the word “everything” actually means “everything”! That the Lord performed a miracle on my dad and enabled him to stop smoking in a most inexplicable way is something He willed and planned to do. He does as He pleases and what He does He does for our good.

Rom 8:28 “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose.”

I was just thinking, my dad told me that he has been smoking for 33 years (he alluded to Christ’s life on earth while saying this). If he had stopped smoking before I got born, then at this point of my life, I would not have witnessed God’s great ability to make such a heavy chain smoker just stop smoking. But now I know, for I have seen it for myself. He is sovereignly able.

Jer 32:17 “Ah, Sovereign LORD, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm. Nothing is too hard for You.”

As I said earlier, this post is an exception. I had promised never to paint a picture with myself in it but today I paint a picture that has me in it albeit in the background. It is my hope that those who read shall be encouraged. I have a friend whose dad has a drinking problem, which has affected what she has known to be family. Now I hope that when she reads, she will be encouraged to continue praying for him in the hope that one day he will stop, not out of of his own strenth and ability, but simply and only because of God’s grace and mercy upon her and her father, for “A person cannot receive even one thing unless it is given him from heaven”(Jn 3:27).

So now that you have read, I hope that you will be encouraged. Share it with friends to encourage them too, and let’s continue calling to our God and where we are without strength, let us, like the father of that boy with an evil spirit, cry out “I do believe; HELP ME OVERCOME MY UNBELIEF!”(Mark 8:24) and He who is able to sympathise with our weaknesses will give us mercy and grace to help us in our time of need(Heb 4:16).

Soli Deo Gloria!

~ by paintbrush89 on August 2, 2013.

2 Responses to “It’s Been Long”

  1. wow!God is just faithful!making everything beautiful in its own time..Ecclesiastes3:11….very encouraging!

    • Amen! And so let us be encouraged to keep on waiting on Him; for He never sleeps, He never slumbers. What a God we serve!
      Thanks for reading, Joy, and God bless you:-)

Leave a Reply

 
